Highlights from the Archives, Volume 2

Climate Summer 2011 kicks off this weekend, and this blast from the past goes out to all those nervous new members of the Climate Summer crew… 31 young adults who have committed their summers to living their values, even though many of them have never ridden more than a few miles at a time on their bikes!

So I found this post from John Doyle, a member of the 2010 Eastern Massachusetts Team.  None of the 2010 riders were seasoned cyclists when they arrived at training, but they are now! So Climate Summer 2011, this is for you (and for Zoe who broke her arm training on her bike a few days ago and is no longer able to ride this summer).

So for those of you packing up, see you very soon!  For those awaiting our arrival in your towns, we’re so excited to work with you!  For those friends and supporters (new and old) who follow us as a matter of course, get ready because Climate Summer 2011 is going to be AMAZING!

-Marla (Director, New England Climate Summer)

Winthrop Horribles Parade (July 4th)

John Doyle lining up for the "Horribles Parade" on July 4, 2010 in Winthrop, MA!

A piece of cake.. a piece of crumb cake.
Posted on July 22, 2010 by jqh4
Post by: John

During our almost 40-mile ride to Marshfield from Waltham (a 2-night journey), the dread of riding that distance was, for the first time this summer, absent. I remember during camp when we got our routes for the summer and the number of miles like 35, 40, 50 between towns made my hamstrings, back, and calves hurt before we even left.

After my first week riding the 70 miles to Portsmouth, NH, it was definitely up there on my list of ‘Most Sore Moments of My Life.’ I thought this would be the constant feeling of the summer. It was always “it’ll be easier later in the summer…” and “we’ll get in shape…” except I didn’t really believe this at the time.

Dying on the side of the road.

But I guess I do now. On the first day riding to South Weymouth, MA, some 30 miles from where we were in Waltham, I easily thought it would take at least 6-7 hours to get there. Leaving camp over a month ago look 8 hours going that distance in one day. Yet it took us only 3 and 1/2 hours to get to where we were staying that night. We arrived 4 hours ahead of schedule. I couldn’t believe it!

In only a month and a half, I think we’ve become amazing bikers. We’re able to carry what we wear, eat, and use for the entire summer on our bikes and in trailers that no longer slow us down. We know what roads to take and how to pick out a correct route to get us places. And we’re physically able to get to our destinations, regardless of the large number of miles, hills, and rainstorms.

After arriving in Marshfield, I wasn’t even sore. In fact, I went on another bike ride after we got here to find a beach. Looking back, I could barely move when I made it to Portsmouth my first week.

Biking has become a huge part of our lives. Now that I’ve ridden 40 miles in one day in 100 degree weather (Winthrop to Newburyport….good times), I know that I can depend on my bike for a more sustainable, easier, and even healthier mode of transportation.

Team East!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell us what you think!

