Antidote for the Self Righteous

Posted on behalf of Kay Young, Team Leader, Team For the Masses.

It’s often hard to take a step back and simultaneously acknowledge the magnitude and insignificance of a moment. Altogether moments of soaring joy and plummeting despair can become times defining, they ultimately pale in comparison to the dearth of experiences had by the whole of humanity. As I ride many miles this summer I want to be a vehicle for a Movement much greater than myself. I want to embody empowerment in a way that deeply connects me to people and their values and spread not my story, but a story molded by our collective experiences and hopes.

Climate Summer 2014 Team Leaders (L to R): Tuula Perry, Kay Young, Shreya Thatai, Ben Linthicum

Climate Summer 2014 Team Leaders (L to R): Tuula Perry, Kay Young, Shreya Thatai, Ben Linthicum

To say that my journey is pedal powered misses the mark entirely. My summer is fueled by those living in harmony with the Earth, those whose horizons are speckled with oil infrastructure, those who do not have the privilege to dedicate time to the fossil fuel resistance. My summer is fueled by people power and its foundation of love. When I am feeling fatigued by the omnipresent weight of the mounting threats to the planet, the faces of those most tied to the land will uplift me. When I am feeling masterful, like a unique force of might, I will be grounded by the uncertainty that besieges the advancement of systemic climate justice. This refrain will be my guiding light: “Ain’t no power like the power of people ’cause the power of the people don’t stop!”

This entry was posted in 2014, Team For the MASSes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Antidote for the Self Righteous

  1. Pingback: Highlights from Climate Summer 2014! | Pedal Posts from the Road

Tell us what you think!

