Road Stops and Team Work

Posted on behalf of Myra Sampson, Media Coordinator, Team For the MASSes.

       This summer has been filled with road stops. As we bike our way along our respective routes, many things force us to stop along the way. Sometimes it’s an uplifting experience like a farm stand with veggies and fruit fresh from the garden. However, sometimes it’s a flat tire that stops

We are all getting stronger in so many ways everyday.

We are all getting stronger in so many ways everyday.

us, or it’s something sharp that stops us right in our path and demands immediate attention. Both kinds of stops are unavoidable. The first kind allows us to keep going, and the second makes us stronger.

       This summer has been filled with bumps in the road, and each time my team and I have come out stronger. Marla, our fabulous director, told us, “If you can do this type of organizing, you can do any type of organizing.” It was a moment of doubt, a moment of insecurity, but we pulled through. There have been times this summer that I have found myself stuck in a literal rut, where I

Hallie, Alissa, and I taking a much needed break at the top of a hill.

Hallie, Alissa, and I taking a much needed break at the top of a hill.

hadn’t been paying attention and I biked myself into a particularly large pothole and found myself struggling to get out. Then there have been times where I have found myself stuck in an emotional rut, but each time I have found my way out.

       As a team, we have made it through illness, injuries, and disputes, and each obstacle in our path has made us better and has prepared us to handle the next. There is no way anyone could do this alone; teammates are essential to the the Climate Summer riders’ survival. My teammates are incredible, and each individual brings something different to the team.

       Hallie’s positivity is contagious; she is always singing “Everything is Awesome,” an uplifting song from the Lego Movie. As you go up a hill, pulling a trailer, you can always hear Hallie singing “Just Keep Pedaling,” a Climate Summer adaptation to “Just Keep Swimming” from Finding Nemo. Kay is always ready with a hug or encouraging word when you need it. Alissa keeps me updated with the latest political news and Luke always has a joke at hand to lighten the mood.

Team For the MASSes

My amazing and supportive teammates.

       This summer, we have all grown in so many ways. One of the things I have learned is that I can’t do everything by myself and that my teammates have made it possible for me to succeed.

This entry was posted in Team For the MASSes, Team Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell us what you think!

